March 25, 2019

  • Updated
Download Icon Download

Derwent World Patent Index Coverage Expanded to Include Eight Former Soviet Republics and the Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO)

Beginning with Derwent update 2019/17, the country coverage of Derwent World Patents Index (DWPI) has been expanded to include the Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO) and eight former Soviet republics that now form the CIS (Commonwealth of Independent States):

  • Armenia (AM)
  • Belarus (BY)
  • Georgia (GE)
  • Kazakhstan (KZ)
  • Kyrgyzstan (KG)
  • Moldova (MD)
  • Uzbekistan (UZ)
  • Tajikistan (TJ)

The CIS region has a rapidly growing economy, with the members averaging 3.7% growth in GDP in 2017. This growth is underpinned by significant investment from China, along with increasing patenting activity in the region. Derwent is responding to this growth by including patents from this important region in DWPI.

At first, coverage will begin with 2018 and 2019, but a backfile to 2002 will be created. The backfile will comprise more than 90,000 documents, including patent applications, granted patents, and utility models.

Early analysis of these documents shows a strong focus on pharmaceuticals, biotechnology and chemistry, as well as civil and mechanical engineering. This increased coverage in DWPI enables the database to provide more efficient technology monitoring, prior art and freedom-to-operate searching, through the provision of authoritative DWPI English language titles, abstracts, and Manual Codes.